Robert Plant’s Nine Lives

robert plant

If there’s a Robert Plant freak in your life, odds are he or she picked this up on its release date last Tuesday (Nov. 21st). But if not, do I have the Christmas present for you (or Hannukah, or whatever, you understand, ya?)…

It’s another great project from our friends at Rhino, a box set including all nine of Plant’s solo albums, remastered and expanded with previously unreleased bonus tracks. Dubbed Nine Lives, it also has a DVD with all of his music videos, a comprehensive interview, and rare footage. All for under $100.00.

robert plant nine lives box set

I’ve always enjoyed Plant’s solo material. I was partial to his 80’s material until last year’s Mighty Rearranger, an A+ Robert Plant album mixing all sorts of musical styles, from funky to polyrhythmic to bluesy. Well, here’s your opportunity to have ’em all, from Pictures at Eleven to Mighty Rearranger.

Robert Plant: Little by Little (mp3) – from Shaken ‘n’ Stirred

Buy the Nine Lives box set.

Check out the Nine Lives eCard.

Check out the Rhino Listening Party for Nine Lives.

And now, a nice treat to coincide with the Nine Lives release. The one time I saw Robert Plant was in Milwaukee on the Now and Zen tour in 1988. It was a great show, mixing his solo stuff with great renditions of some Zep classics (e.g. “In the Evening”, “Trampled Underfoot”). I came across this Philly Spectrum show from the same tour (recorded from a radio broadcast). This took place about a week before I saw him in Milwaukee, so it was a nice find.

Robert Plant
Philadelphia, PA
The Spectrum
May 23, 1988

1. Helen of Troy
2. Other Arms
3. Heaven Knows
4. In The Evening
5. In The Mood
6. Black Country Woman
7. Ship Of Fools
8. Dimples
9. Trampled Underfoot
10. Misty Mountain Hop
11. Band Introductions
12. Tall Cool One / End Credits

In the box set:

Track Listing

1. “Burning Down One Side”
2. “Moonlight In Samosa”
3. “Pledge Pin”
4. “Slow Dancer”
5. “Worse Than Detroit”
6. “Fat Lip”
7. “Like I’ve Never Been Gone”
8. “Mystery Title”
Bonus Tracks:
9. “Far Post”
10. “Like I’ve Never Gone” – Live: Houston 1983

Track Listing

1. “Other Arms”
2. “In The Mood”
3. “Messin’ With The Mekon”
4. “Wreckless Love”
5. “Thru’ With The Two Step”
6. “Horizontal Departure”
7. “Stranger Here Than Over There”
8. “Big Log”
Bonus Tracks:
9. “In The Mood” – Live In Houston 1983
10. “Thru’ With The Two Step” – Live In Houston 1983
11. “Lively Up Yourself” – Live In Houston 1983
12. “Turnaround”* – studio track

Track Listing

1. “I Get A Thrill”
2. “Sea Of Love”
3. “I Got A Woman”
4. “Young Boy Blues”
5. “Rockin’ At Midnight”
Bonus Tracks:
6. “Rockin’ At Midnight” – Live: Birmingham NEC

Track Listing

1. “Hip To Hoo”
2. “Kallalou Kallalou”
3. “Too Loud”
4. “Trouble Your Money”
5. “Pink And Black”
6. “Little By Little”
7. “Doo Doo A Do Do”
8. “Easily Lead”
9. “Sixes And Sevens”
Bonus Tracks:
10. “Little By Little” – Remixed Long Version (1985)

Track Listing

1. “Heaven Knows”
2. “Dance On My Own”
3. “Tall Cool One”
4. “The Way I Feel”
5. “Helen Of Troy”
6. “Billy’s Revenge”

7. “Ship Of Fools”
8. “Why”
9. “White, Clean And Neat”
10. “Walking Towards Paradise”
Bonus Track
11. “Billy’s Revenge” – Live: Bootleg from Los Angeles, CA (1990)*
12. “Ship Of Fools” – Live: Bootleg from Holland (1993)*
13. “Tall Cool One” – Live: Bootleg from Los Angeles, CA (1990)*

Track Listing

1. “Hurting Kind (I’ve Only Got Eyes On You)”
2. “Big Love”
3. “S S S & Q”
4. “I Cried”
5. “She Said”
6. “Nirvana”
7. “Tie Dye On The Highway”
8. “Your Ma Said You Cried In Your Sleep Last Night”
9. “Anniversary”
10. “Liars Dance”
11. “Watching You”
Bonus Tracks:
12. “Oompa (Watery Bint)” – B-side to promo single (1990)
13. “One Love” – UK single (1990)
14. “Don’t Look Back” UK single (1990)

Track Listing

1. “Calling To You”
2. “Down To The Sea”
3. “Come Into My Life”
4. “I Believe”
5. “29 Palms”
6. “Memory Song (Hello Hello)”
7. “If I Were A Carpenter”
8. “Promised Land”
9. “The Greatest Gift”
10. “Great Spirit”
11. “Network News”
Bonus Tracks:
12. “Colours Of A Shade” – Bonus track on UK & Japan release of Fate of
13. “Great Spirit” – (Acoustic Mix) – UK single (1993)
14. “Rollercoaster” – (Demo)*
15. “8:05” – UK single (1993)
16. “Dark Moon” – (Acoustic) – UK single (1993)

Track Listing

1. “Funny In My Mind (I Believe I’m Fixin’ To Die)”
2. “Morning Dew”
3. “One More Cup of Coffee”
4. “Last Time I Saw Her”
5. “Song To The Siren”
6. “Win My Train Fare Home (If I Ever Get Lucky)”
7. “Darkness, Darkness”
8. “Red Dress”
9. “Hey Joe”
10. “Skip’s Song”
Bonus Track:
11. “Dirt In A Hole” – previously only available in UK, Japan and Australia
12. “Last Time I Saw Her – Remix

Track Listing

1. “Another Tribe”
2. “Shine It All Around”
3. “Freedom Fries”
4. “Tin Pan Valley”
5. “All The Kings Horses”
6. “The Enchanter”
7. “Takamba”
8. “Dancing In Heaven”
9. “Somebody”
10. “Let The Four Winds Blow”
11. “Mighty Rearranger”
12. “Brother Ray”
Bonus Tracks:
13. “Red, White And Blue”
14. “All The Money In The World” – UK single (B-side) (2005)
15. “Shine It All Around” (Girls Remix)
16. “Tin Pan Valley” – (Girls Remix)
17. “The Enchanter” – (Unkle Reconstruction)

*Previously Unreleased

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.