Boss for the Holidays: Coliseum Night

bruce on rolling stone, 1981

Happy Holidays Bruce fans….

Bruce Springsteen & the E. Street Band
Coliseum Night
December 29, 1980
Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, New York

Well what we have here is a live Bruce classic. A few of the tunes made it on to the Live 75-85 box set (“Darkness”, “You Can Look..”). It’s the only River tour version of “Incident on 57th Street”, and the very last time it segued into “Rosalita” (like the originals on The Wild, The Innocent, and the E Street Shuffle). It’s holiday time, so we get “Merry Christmas Baby” and “Santa Claus..” And we get a Boss-flavored “This Land is Your Land”, a cover of CCR’s “Who’ll Stop the Rain”, and tons more. From the moment “Night” kicks in to the last notes of Mitch Ryder’s “Devil With a Blue Dress On”, the energy level is unbelievably high.

Part 1

1. Night
2. Out in the Street
3. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
4. Who’ll Stop the Rain
5. Darkness on the Edge of Town
6. Factory
7. Intro
8. Independence Day
9. Two Hearts
10. Prove it All Night
11. The Promised Land
12. This Land is Your Land
13. The River
14. Badlands

Part 2

1. Thunder Road
2. Cadillac Ranch
3. Sherry Darling
4. Hungry Heart
5. Merry Christmas Baby
6. Fire
7. Candy’s Room
8. Because the Night
9. 4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
10. For You
11. Stolen Car
12. Wreck on the Highway

Part 3

1. Point Blank
2. The Ties that Bind
3. Ramrod
4. You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)
5. Incident on 57th Street
6. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
7. Santa Claus is Coming to Town
8. Jungleland
9. Born to Run
10. Devil with a Blue Dress On
11. Good Golly Miss Molly
12. CC Rider
13. Jenny Take a Ride / Boogie
14. I Hear A Train / Devil with a Blue Dress On


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.